Illinois BASSET Certification
The BASSET Certification course is required mandatory training for anyone looking to sell or serve alcohol in the state of Illinois. The Beverage Alcohol Sellers Servers Education Training (BASSET) program was designed to educate sellers and servers of responsibly selling and serving alcoholic beverages. This is a preventive measure put in place by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission to discourage overconsumption and ensure the safety of the general public including those who are consuming alcohol.
Why Choose BeverageTraining.com?
- Approved Online Provider of the ILCC BASSET Certification Course
- Recognized and Trusted by Employers, Insurance Firms, and Law Enforcement
- 100% Online and Interactive – No Classroom Hours Required!
- Self-Paced and Accessible on Desktop, Mobile, or Tablets
- Pass Guarantee – Retake the Final Exam at No Extra Cost!
- 24/7 Toll-Free Customer Support
- Printable Certification Upon Completion
|TIPS for On-Premise||3||$40.00||Enroll|
|TIPS for Off-Premise||3||$40.00||Enroll|
|TIPS for Gaming||3||$40.00||Enroll|
|TIPS for Concessions||3||$40.00||Enroll|
|Illinois BASSET Training Certification||4||Enroll|
|Illinois Food Handler Training Course (ANSI Accredited)||2||Enroll|
|Package 1: BASSET Certification + Food Handler Training||Enroll|
|llinois BASSET Certification|
|Illinois Food Handler Training Course (ANSI Accredited)|
|Package 2: Illinois BASSET + Food Manager Certification||Enroll|
|Illinois Food Safety Management Principles|
|Illinois BASSET Training|
|Learn2Serve Illinois Food Protection Manager Certification Exam||1.5||55.00||Enroll|
|Learn2Serve Illinois Food Safety Management Principles||8||$85.00||Enroll|
|Principios de Administración de Seguridad de Alimentos Learn2Serve||8||$85.00||Enroll|
|Learn2Serve Programa de Certificado de Capacitación para Manipuladores de Alimentos||2||Enroll|
Upon completion of the course and the final exam, you will be able to download and print a certificate, which can serve as a temporary BASSET card. We will send your information, course completion, and exam scores, to ILCC who will send you a permanent BASSET card.
Our course is approved by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission. The BASSET training is for employees selling and serving alcoholic beverages in Restaurants, Bars, Clubs, Hotels, Breweries, and Events. The IL BASSET Certification is suitable for individuals employed at Gas Stations, Convenience Stores, Grocery Stores, and Liquor Shops. Our self-paced course takes approximately 3 hours to complete. A certification with 3-year validity is available to print at the end of your course!
This Illinois Alcohol Seller Server Training is required for obtaining your BASSET certification. The course is designed to educate sellers and servers to understand and identify the rules and regulations in selling and consuming alcoholic beverages responsibly in the state of Illinois. The objective of this BASSET training is to promote legal and preventive measures for alcohol seller and servers in order to eliminate possible liabilities, ensure the safety of customers and the public, promote the legal and responsible sale of alcohol and consumption, prevent underage drinking and recognize the signs of an intoxicated customer.
What is the Illinois BASSET certification?
The Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) program is the state of Illinois’ seller/server training program. It is an educational and training tool for alcoholic beverage sellers and alcoholic beverages servers to follow the law and serve responsibly.
Under the licensing and regulatory support of the Illinois Liquor Control Commission, BASSET is intended to encourage profitable, responsible, and legal alcohol sales and service
Getting your BASSET certification is easy. Simply complete a state-approved alcohol server training program, and as soon as you pass the final exam, you get your temporary certificate of completion. Then, your completion is sent to the Illinois Liquor Control Commission (ILCC), and the ILCC will send your official BASSET card.
Who needs BASSET certification in Illinois?
As of July 1, 2018, all on-premise alcohol servers (and those required to check identification for alcohol service) are mandated to take BASSET. BASSET training has now become mandatory in the State of Illinois on a county-wise roll-out. Cook County requires mandatory certification and 9 other chief counties will be mandatory by next July 1st.
Also, some municipalities in the State of Illinois do require BASSET training due to local law. So you should revert to your local regulatory authorities to check if BASSET training is required in order to be employed at a liquor-selling establishment.
Many businesses choose to train their staff to equip them with the skills necessary to prevent any alcohol-related mishaps.
On-Premise Illinois BASSET Certification is suitable for bartenders, barbacks, servers, managers, and wait staff in bars, restaurants, events. It is also used by the liquor store clerks and grocery store clerks where alcoholic beverages may sell alongside other regular grocery store items.
Completing our Illinois alcohol certification will award you with your Illinois Basset certificate. The Illinois Liquor Control Commission will mail your official BASSET Card for FREE.
What are the objectives of the BASSET training program?
The BASSET Training Program aims to:
- Instruct and train sellers and servers to participate in responsible alcohol service;
- Be able to identify signs of intoxication
- Apply various intervention techniques for intoxicated individuals
- Prevent DUIs and alcohol-related fatalities
- Curtail underage drinking and underage sales
- Create safe communities
- Create safer establishments where alcoholic beverages are served
- Train owners, managers, and staff on dram shop insurance, state laws, and local ordinances regarding alcohol service.
Why should I get my BASSET certification?
If you are serving alcohol, you are required to take the course. It will also help you learn the laws so that you stay protected from liability, as Illinois enforces the Dram Shop Act.
Additionally, the ILCC enforces harsh penalties for serving minors under the age of 21 alcoholic beverages. For a minor offense, you can face a fine of up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail. And if it’s a felony offense, you’re looking at a prison sentence of a year or more, in addition to fines up to $25,000.
In Illinois, you have the right to refuse service to anyone who cannot provide proof of their identity and age, or if they are intoxicated. By taking advantage of those rights, you can help keep your customers safe and prevent drunk driving in Illinois, which is a major concern.
Statistics in Illinois from 2003 to 2012, from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), show that a total of 3,866 people were killed in crashes involving a drunk driver—which is higher than the national average.
One of the topics our BASSET training course covers in detail is how to recognize intoxicated customers and ways you can safely refuse to sell to them. Check out our BASSET certification course to learn about additional topics the training covers.
Why is certification important?
The BASSET program’s main objective is to adequately train and educate sellers and servers to serve alcohol responsibly. Through thorough training in the alcoholic beverage industry (via BASSET programs), the number of drunk driving fatalities should decrease. It is intended to promote the responsible selling and serving of alcoholic beverages and can reduce sales and service to minors by vigilant ID checking.
Alcohol servers must be made familiar with the concept of BAC and how a BAC chart can help you judge a customer’s BAC level. BAC chart indicators are simply one factor to consider when making a decision to serve a customer alcohol.
Every server of alcohol must also use their discretion to make this decision on their own, because a BAC chart may not be a great tool to help decide if a customer has consumed additional amounts of alcohol prior to your serving them.
What skills will I gain in a BASSET class?
State-licensed BASSET programs train course participants in prevention, intervention strategies, and age-verification techniques. They learn how to recognize if a patron is intoxicated and/or has been over-served.
Servers will be taught signs and behavioral cues to identify when a drinker is intoxicated. They will learn what to say and how to handle an intoxicated patron to discontinue service of alcohol at a liquor establishment. Training programs properly instruct sellers/servers regarding age-verification techniques, which helps deter underage sales and service.
Make sure you select the training and establishment type that’s right for you.
How long does BASSET last?
All BASSET cards are good for three years from the date of issuance. You must re-sit the training and test to get the certification re-issued.
Are TIPS and BASSET the same training?
No. TIPS and BASSET are not the same. BASSET is the certification program run by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission and includes the requirements for serving and selling alcohol.
TIPS is similar to Learn2Serve by 360training and is simply an approved alcohol training provider in Illinois. So, if you require an official BASSET card from the Illinois Liquor Control Commission, you must complete a four-hour BASSET alcohol seller training course from an approved provider.
What jobs can I get with my BASSET Certification?
If you’re looking to get a job in Illinois, getting your BASSET certification makes you an attractive candidate to potential employers because you will be familiar with state laws and best practices for serving alcohol.
Also if you would like to know just about how much money you can expect to make, here are some basic wage data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics for bartenders and barbacks in Illinois.
|JOB TITLE||AVERAGE HOURLY WAGE||AVERAGE YEARLY WAGE|
However, if you are in the top 90th percentile of bartenders, you can make much more money: $18.71 an hour. And depending on your preference, skill level, and career goals, there are many different establishments you can work with your BASSET card, such as:
- Convenience stores
- Grocery stores
- Liquor stores
- And more…
Any business that requires someone to check ID cards before selling alcohol is a place you can work.
Where can I get more information about Illinois alcohol regulations?
You can find more information on the ILCC’s website, including:
- BASSET rules and regulations
- BASSET license application
- Resources for parents to prevent drinking
- Happy hour frequently asked questions
- News and updates on licensing and laws.
If you are looking for more course-specific information from us check out our Illinois BASSET alcohol server training.
Other Illinois Alcohol Laws
Young people seek part-time jobs in hospitality. Youths must know eligibility ages for working with and around alcohol. What is an eligible age to tend bar? To serve alcohol in a restaurant? To sell alcohol that is purchased in a store but will be imbibed elsewhere?
Illinois alcohol laws permit adults aged 18 or older to be bartenders. They are also permitted to be servers in venues that sell alcohol for consumption on-site. And they are further allowed to sell alcohol for consumption off-site.
No one under age 21 can buy alcohol. Using a false ID to purchase alcohol is a criminal act. Those under 21 irrevocably, cannot drive with any blood in their system. That’s mean they must have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.00% before attempting to, and during operating a motor vehicle.
It is a violation of Illinois alcohol laws to sell or serve alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. That includes adults aged 18, 19, and 20.
The penalty for doing so is a fine of up to $2,500 and imprisonment for up to one year for a first offense. Multiple convictions can lead to imprisonment for over one year and a fine of up to $25,000.
It’s also illegal to sell or serve alcohol to an already intoxicated person. The penalty is imprisonment for up to one year and a fine of $500 to $2,500.
It’s illegal for anyone under 21 to buy or attempt to buy alcohol. For a first offense, the penalty is their driver’s license suspension for three months and court supervision for six months. It’s a one-year suspension and court supervision.
Possessing and misappropriating another person’s driver’s license or state ID card in an attempt to purchase alcohol can lead to license suspension or revocation. This penalty can occur without any conviction.
Illinois alcohol laws prohibit allowing underage drinking at a private residence. The penalty of jail for up to one year and a fine of $500 to $2,500. If a private house party results in serious injury or death the penalty increases. It becomes a prison for up to three years and fines of up to $25,000. The offender has a criminal record for life.
The town of South Holland is dry. That is, it permits no sale or purchase of alcohol.
Age 21 or Older
It’s illegal for anyone 21 or older to drive with a BAC of 0.08% or higher. It is also illegal to have any trace of illicit drugs in a driver’s body.
The penalties for a BAC of 0.08% or higher, a trace of drugs, or declining testing are clearly assigned.
For a first offense, it’s a driver’s license suspension for six months. However, for using the right to decline to test, it’s a one-year suspension.
A second offense within five years leads to higher penalties. It’s a license suspension for one year. But it’s for declining testing, the suspension is for three years. In the latter case, there is no driving relief possible. That is a license with hardship restrictions, ignition interlock device, etc.
All drivers have a Constitutional right to decline to take a BAC test if an officer requests it. Nevertheless, the state punishes those to use their right.
Under Age 21
Illinois alcohol laws prohibit driving with a BAC over 0.0. Most states set the limit at 0.02%, because of the unreliability of breathalyzers. In addition, all humans naturally produce alcohol in their bodies. Finally, many medications and foods contain alcohol.
The penalty for those under 21 driving with a BAC over 0.00% is a driving license suspension for three months. Should you choose to decline a BAC test, it is a six-month license suspension for declining a BAC test. The state is rigid in enforcing the law for underage driving under the influence. A person under 21 who has a BAC of 0.08% or higher faces stricter penalties. For a first conviction it’s up to one year in jail and equal to but not over $2,500 in fines. In addition, the state revokes the driving license for at least two years.
For a second offense, it’s a one-year license suspension. But for declining a BAC test, it’s a two-year suspension. The second conviction increases the penalties. The jail time is up to one year and the fines may be equal to but not over $2,500. Illinois revokes the driving license for at least five years or until age 21, whichever is longer. Then there’s either at least five days in jail or 240 hours of community service.
Additional penalties apply if a DUI results in serious bodily harm or death. If it’s a third or later DUI. Having a DUI without a license. Or having one without insurance.
It’s a violation for anyone under 21 to have any alcohol in their vehicle. For a first offense, there’s a mandatory driver’s license suspension for one year. Others also in the vehicle can get a fine up to $1,000.
Illinois alcohol laws prohibit operating a water vessel under the influence of alcohol or drugs. People face conviction of boating under the influence (BUI) if one of the following applies.
- A BAC of 0.08 or more.
- Tested positive for illicit drugs.
- Suffered impairment by alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two, such that they can’t safely operate the vessel.
The penalties of BUI conviction vary by circumstances and according to the decision of the judge. But these are the usual penalties.
For a first offense, the penalty of jail for up to 364 days and a fine equal to but not exceeding $2,600.
A second offense is punishable by up to three years in prison and as much as $25,000 in fines.
If the operator receives a BUI while on a suspended license, the offense is a class four felony. The penalty of prison for up to three years and fines equal to but not exceeding $25,000.
If a BUI offender is in an accident that causes the death of anyone, it’s a class two felony. The prison sentence is three to 14 years. And the fines are up to $25,000.
If a BUI occurs with anyone under age 16 in the vessel, the minimum fine is $500. In addition, the operator must do at least five days of community service. And the service must benefit children.
Please click http://www.illinois.gov/ilcc/Pages/Home.aspx for regulatory information and requirements.